We’re Married. Friends or Enemies?

What I believe happens is that satan throws stones at us. He throws one at my husband and whispers to him that I did it and throws one at me and tells me that my husband threw it. Then he sits back and watches, hoping what he’s done will cause damage and confusion.

We have power over this. We are given power by God. If we claim God as our Savior we have nothing to fear. Do not be afraid.

I tried to figure out WHY marriage would be this hard when I knew with all my heart that God had brought my husband to me and we were supposed to be together. How come we argued so much? I’ve had other relationships and they weren’t this difficult at all.

That’s when it hit me. Through my tears I realized that satan has done this. We were and are going to do great things for God and somehow we allowed the enemy to get a foothold and a stronghold.

Here’s what God showed me:

We’re sitting. I’m reading a book and he’s watching T.V. and I feel a hard hit to my head. I spin around in anger and say, “Why did you throw that at me?!” My husband, who has also received a rock to the head, fights back, saying, “Me? You threw this at me!” So satan stands back and keeps whispering to us all the negative things about each other and enjoys the confusion he’s created. Then we realize in a sudden moment of clarity what has happened. We drop the rocks, drop to our knees, and pray together. Then, oh my, is satan ever mad!  But we push him out the door together and he shrinks into a tiny puff of nothing.

God didn’t cause the confusion. He didn’t make us argue. We forgot that we love each other unconditionally for a moment…. or actually a few years. We are meant to be together and because we want be used together for God’s will, we are able to refocus and forgive.

Think about this.  The enemy doesn’t have a need to go after people he’s already got.  If you’re having a tough time it may be because you’re doing something right.

 

4 thoughts on “We’re Married. Friends or Enemies?

  1. Even in remembering that Satan is around, and is interfering with lives, we also need to remember that humans, too , are responsible for their own actions. No matter what good Christians we are, we must also “live” in the world and see people as responsible individuals when it comes to things that they do. Everything can not always , legitimately, be blamed on “satan”. If we do that, if we do blame everything on “satan”, then we excuse adult human beings from ever taking any responsibility over their own lives , for their own choices and for their own actions.

    Like

  2. My marriage is going thru rough patch n i feel dat im fighting a losing battle but i Trust d Lord dat He will mend our broken marriage. Amen #so heart broken never anticipated this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

