Private vs Public vs Home School for us

School officially starts tomorrow (August 1st) at our house.

I think there is A LOT of great stuff about public, private, AND home school. Each kind of school has some good and some not so good.

I can say that this is the first time (possibly EVER) since my kids started preschool that we’ve snuggled more, had less stress, looked forward to learning and to the start of school.

I have spent days and weeks frustrated about getting to school on time for so many years. I was a grouchy mommy some mornings because we had to be somewhere or else tardies made life not fun and sometimes my kids had one speed and sometimes that speed did not match public (or private) school standards.

Schedule for many school years so far:
Hurry and get up.
Hurry and eat breakfast.
Hurry and brush teeth.
Hurry and get dressed.
Hurry and get your shoes on.
Hurry to the car to get to school.
Hurry and get out of the car or the drop off line is not moving fast enough.
Hurry to the car after school or the car pick up line is too slow.
After school snack – not hurried.
Hurry and get your homework done.
Hurry to spend quality time with mommy and daddy.
Hurry and eat dinner.
Hurry and get your teeth brushed and a shower and get to bed so we can hurry again tomorrow.

I think we are done with the “hurry” schedule. I’m not sure it is good for any of us to fill our days with stuff that makes us hurry all the time.

We actually talked about homeschooling a couple of times in past years. The answer was clearly a big “NO!” This time it’s right. This time it’s different. This is something we’ve prayed about and know that is right for our family AT THIS TIME. We are all glad about it.

(NOTE: This does NOT mean we believe homeschooling is right for every family at this time. Please do not send hate letters. I am certain you are making and will keep making the best choices for your family.)

First school assignment: My kids are writing about the pros and cons to each school type because I’ve asked them to and we’d like to know what they think because we enjoy their input about most things in life.

From a 7th grader:
Private school Good:
-Get to see some friends every day.
-Less stress.
-Easier to learn there than in public school.
-Less bullies.
-Study the Bible at school.

Private school Not so good:
-It costs a lot.
-Less family time.

Public school Good:
-I get to see some friends every day.

Public school Not so good:
-Not very many friends every day because I didn’t have many good friends.
-Less family time.
-Bullies.
-Harder to learn there.
-Too many people.
-Don’t get to study the Bible at school.

Homeschool Good:
-Easier to learn.
-Less people.
-More family time.
-Less stress.
-I get to learn more things that I WANT to learn about.
-No bullies.
-I get to study the Bible at school.

Homeschool Not so good:
-I don’t get to see my public or private school friends as much.

From a Junior in high school:
Private school (Preschool) Good:
-I don’t remember much good (or bad) about preschool.

Private school Not so good:
-Cried a couple days every week because I didn’t want to go to school very much.

Public school Good:
-A lot of teachers.
-Different levels of classes.
-A lot of room for creativity like for clothes and dress code.

Public school Not so good:
-Some teachers feel they’re not paid enough to care.
-The classes are too simple or too demanding. There is no in-between.
-Some teachers don’t really care if you can keep up ’cause if you can’t it’s a personal problem.

Homeschool Good:
-Most of the time not far from my mommy.
-The rest: To be determined.

Homeschool Not so good:
-Most of the time not far from my mommy.
-The rest: To be determined.

Leave a Reply

