Just stuff I like to think about.

A question that has been following me lately…

Would you rather

A) hear all the good things everyone thinks about you?
B) hear all the negative things everyone thinks about you?
C) hear both the positive and negative stuff people think about you?
D) not hear anything people think about you?

You know, I used to feel strongly that I’d want B- hear all the negative things everyone thinks about me because then I could decide where to spend my time trying to clear up misunderstandings. That would take a long time. And the truth is that nobody is going to like me all the time or even understand where I’m coming from because nobody has walked the life I’m walking.

Then later in life I decided that C- hear both positive and negative stuff would be best because some negative (spoken in love) would be good to help me know what I needed to change about me – and there are certainly things I work on every day to be a better mommy, wife, friend, and leader. And I’d also get to hear the positive things because sadly most of the time we ALL (and I rarely use the word ALL but in this case I believe it fits) don’t speak blessings over each other often enough.

For a little while I thought strongly about A- hear all the good things everyone thinks because possibly that would help with how I think of myself. – Or would it make me conceited? Don’t know but I don’t think so.

Someone shared a story about being deaf and not hearing what people say about you and that maybe not knowing would be best because you don’t hear the “noise” and the haters. – I believe deaf people do hear clearly some things that “hearing” people do not.

I think I will choose D and not hear what people (who do not know me) think of me. I will concentrate on what my Jesus thinks of me above anything else.

Just stuff I like to think about.

And I haven’t told you today that I’m glad you’re here in this place with me so I will now. I’m glad you’re here. You matter. I pray blessings over your life so big that you can’t help but see Him.

2 thoughts on “Just stuff I like to think about.

  1. I would say: C.

    I want to hear the good, of course, and I often do–from friends who appreciate what I do for the church.

    But I want to hear the negative so I can process it and then decide if it’s something I need to change about myself or blow off as an insignificant and petty complaint. I’ve received a couple of those, and after determining that the grousing had come from a practiced, full-time griper, I filed each one in the IGNORE IT drawer. One of the advantages of being a New Yorker (I do not speak for all; I lived on Long Island) is that you grow up in a culture where you learn to speak the truth with bluntness–if people truly want your honest feedback or opinions. But you are also willing to hear the truth without being offended every five minutes.

    As for the deaf, I believe they may actually “hear” a lot; a smile, a smirk, a scowl–each one of these is worth a thousand words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

