The reason I tell you that you matter so much is because

The reason I tell you that you matter so much is because most things in the world tell you all day long that you don’t.

I did not know I mattered. Truly I didn’t. And in case you feel this way also, I want to be a voice shouting above the noise that you are a masterpiece and really worth something! Please hear that! I’m not the only one who says so. Jesus says so, too.

If you look through the news, tv shows, movies, commercials, advertisements, social sites, there is one thing after another telling you:

-You’re not the best at whatever and you MUST be the best “or else.” (What does that even mean?)

-You need to look “this” way or you’re not “beautiful.” (Says who? Some magazine or advertising executive? Do they even know you? You’re amazing!)

-You need to buy this or you’re “behind.” (Behind WHAT? Life is just not a competition.)

-The world teaches that if you don’t have name brand clothes you’re “less than.” (I’m pretty sure when we get to Heaven God’s not gonna be like, “Heeey! You rocked that $2,000 outfit!” Seriously?  – And please do not send me hate mail saying I said it’s not okay to have “nice” things. It is. But people who don’t spend more because of a “brand” are not “less than” anything.)

-If you don’t “do life” like most people then something’s wrong with you. (Something’s probably wrong with all of us but Jesus calls us to stand out so if someone says you’re different, that may be a great compliment!)

The world lies.

The truth is that you matter and you’re absolutely beautiful and I will tell you this until you believe it; until God takes my breath. You are so much more than you may realize. Everyone has something beautiful.  Sometimes the beauty is just buried under a bunch of ashes covering the true beautiful you that God intended you to be.

 

Leave a Reply

